Resource Management - Maximize the Return from Your People
For many releases, Resource Management in Clarity PPM meant staffing a project with roles or resources. From Niku 6 till Clarity PPM 15.6, the process was - you staffed the project with a role first and then replaced it with a named resource or staffed your project with a named resource directly. But now, another choice was made available within Clarity - Staffing the project with a team.
Organizations that had been using Agile were very familiar with the concept of staffing their Program Increments with agile teams and managing the team allocation vs. resource allocations.
Key points to be aware of:
- The entire team is a single labor resource with a read-only value in the Availability field.
- Clarity PPM updates the values in the availability field with the current calculated availability of all the team members in the following cases:
- When you add a resource to the team
- When you remove a resource from the team
- When you change the allocation percentage for a resource
- If a particular resource leaves the team (deactivated), there is no impact on the total team availability rate.
- Each team has a unique TEAM ID in the Resource ID field (for example, TM00001). Wildcard can be used in the filter to find teams (example TM*).
- Each team also has a financial properties sub-page, which can be further defined.
- A team could be used in the rate matrix as well by selecting the Resource column in a cost and rate matrix.
- The team does not consume a user license.
Resource Allocations for a Defined Team
You can edit the default allocation field and can help address bottlenecks. The following rules describe the default application behavior:
- Default Team allocation
- Single resource - When adding resources to a Team using the in-line edit (one at a time), they will be added (to the team) at 0% allocation by default. When the same resource is added to a second-team using the in-line edit (one at a time), they will be added (to the team) at 0% allocation by default.
- Resource OBS - When adding resources to a Team using Add From Resource OBS. Each resource will be added (to the team) at 100% allocation by default. When adding the same set of resources to a second Team using Add From Resource OBS Each resource will be added (to the team) at 0% allocation by default.
- The Availability rate on the Resource-Team general properties page in classic PPM is updated based on the resource team allocation in the new UI.
- When you deactivate a resource in classic PPM, the allocation percentage and the availability rate for the resource remains a part of the team definition. As an administrator, please review the team allocations for the deactivated resource and manage them to suit your business needs. For example, you can remove the deactivated resource from the team, or you can change the team allocation percentage.
- The existing allocations for a team are only affected if you reset the Availability Rate in classic PPM or adjust the individual investment allocations in the New User Experience.
- In the Clarity PPM 15.6.1 and lower releases, only users with the right to enter time for others could enter time for a task assigned to a team.
- From the 15.7 release, individual team members can now enter time for the work they completed for a task assigned to a team.
- Resources, users (non-administrators) with proper rights can manage Teams. Individual Team members with appropriate rights can now enter the time for the work they completed for a task that is assigned to a Team. The time entered by the individual will be recorded for the team.
- The project financials, Planned to Actuals, displays the team actuals based on the time entered.
- The Team List view and Team Member List view display resource-specific information in a grid layout. All the existing typical grid layout properties apply to this page.
- The Details panel displays allocation-specific details of team members. Click a resource from the grid and then open the Details panel to view the allocation for the resource. You can add individual team members or add all the resources that belong to an OBS.
- Once a team gets allocated to a project, it cannot be deleted. You need to remove the allocations before attempting to delete it; else, an error message is displayed.
- Team members are removed one at a time.
- Project Managers can allocate pre-configured teams to project tasks. They can also populate cost plans based on team allocations or assignments.
Should non-agile projects use teams as well?
Every organizational culture is different, and this is a decision that will require the PMO to determine what the BUs find easy and what will work. What works in IT may not necessarily work for R&D and vice-versa. It all boils down to starting a dialogue and seeing where it leads.